Meditation Monday: Servant’s Heart

““Do you want to stand out? Then step down. Be a servant. If you puff yourself up, you’ll get the wind knocked out of you. But if you’re content to simply be yourself, your life will count for plenty.” Matthew‬ ‭23:11-12‬ ‭MSG‬‬

Heavenly Father, thank you for sending your Son to be the perfect example of what a servant looks like. He came down from heavenly glory and humbled himself before men. He served those that others looked down upon and deemed worthless. He didn’t desire to be known, or to be famous, or to be first, even though he had every right to be. Instead, He put himself last so that others could have the gift of eternal life.

Forgive me when I do the opposite of this. Forgive me when I get puffed up or become self-righteous. Forgive me when I turn to my selfish desires rather than the needs of others. Help me to look to Jesus as my example.

Please go before me this week Lord, help me to simply be content with who you called me to be. Fill me with your Holy Spirit and place within me a servant’s heart. Give me a desire to do Your work and serve Your people in all I do. In Jesus’ name, amen.

~Anita Marie

Share your thoughts here